An official legal communique sent to the Vermont Insurance Commission.

Thank you for taking my inquiry.

I do not have a driver’s license. I never possessed a valid driver’s license owing to the fraudulent representation of its being necessary, not to mention that sixteen-year-olds cannot engage in contracts. I am now forty-eight years old.

The State of Vermont maintains that I am a driver in possession of a civilly suspended license. But that’s not really something that you need to trouble yourself with. I tell you this information so that you can understand my situation.

I exercise my natural right to travel upon the public thoroughfares in pursuit of my private business by modern conveyances of the day, including by automobile. My car is unregistered, uninspected, and uninsured. I do not legally require a driver’s license. The State of Vermont now apparently concedes that, as I have been standing on my right to travel since 2007, routinely throwing tickets away, and I’m still walkin’ the streets (or motoring, as it were.)

The problem here is that I regard it as unwise not to have insurance in case I damage someone else’s car or, heaven forbid, cause an injury. But I have searched high and low for an insurance company that will insure what they term an “unlicensed driver” or one in possession of a “suspended license.” The insurance companies are unaware that there is such a thing as a natural right to travel. They refuse to insure me. They think I’m being evasive, or they think I must have lost a driver’s license for unsafe driving, or they think I’m a criminal. I’ve never been in trouble with the law a day in my life.

Would your office please help me in securing the auto insurance that I need to travel responsibly? Would you please inform all auto insurance carriers authorized to sell insurance in Vermont that there is an entire class of human called the “traveler”? I am not a driver, licensed or otherwise; I am a traveler. The legal distinction is important. There is nothing whatsoever illegal about conducting an automobile along the public thoroughfares in pursuit of one’s private business and as an exercising of one’s natural right to travel. You may check with your legal staff to confirm this. And the Governor’s Office is well aware of me. They can confirm this.

So in short, I ask for your office’s assistance in finding an insurance carrier that will cover me as I exercise my natural right to travel, at no price premium above what they cover a licensed driver. For example, my recent inquiry to Progressive yielded a quote of $256 for top-of-the-line, gold-plated liability coverage for six months. I would expect the same as the traveler that I am. I will tolerate no price premium just because the exercising of one’s natural right to travel “sounds kooky.”

And please instruct the insurance companies that I would be under no legal obligation to provide the number of the driver’s license that I once possessed in error, before it came to my attention that it was invalid due to its fraudulent representation as being necessary. I do not wish to engage in fraud, so it’s actually illegal for me to seek to derive benefit by furnishing the number of a license I now know was invalid.

I thank you in advance for your assistance. I should like to be insured within the month.

Please reply only by email.

Yours in Vermont Strongness,

Christopher King,
Grafton, Vermont 05146

